Lance's Truck Stop purchased a new automatic truck washing machine for $135,000 on January 1. Lance estimates that the machine will last for 10 years at which time it can be sold for $35,000. Lance also estimates that a total of 50,000 trucks would be washed by the machine before it was salvaged. During the first year 7,000 trucks were washed and during the second year another 9,000 were washed. REQUIRED: Calculate depreciation expense for the first two years using the straight-line, units of production, and double declining-balance methods.

Answers

Answer 1

Answer:

Results are below.

Explanation:

First, we need to calculate the annual depreciation using the straight-line method:

Annual depreciation= (original cost - salvage value)/estimated life (years)

Annual depreciation= (135,000 - 35,000) / 10

Annual depreciation=  $10,000 per year

Now, using the double-declining balance:

Annual depreciation= 2*[(book value)/estimated life (years)]

Year 1:

Annual depreciation= 2*[(135,000 - 35,000) / 10]

Annual depreciation= $20,000

Year 2:

Annual depreciation= 2*[(100,000 - 20,000) / 10]

Annual depreciation= $16,000

Finally, using the units of production method:

Annual depreciation= [(original cost - salvage value)/useful life of production in trucks washed]*trucks washed

Year 1:

Annual depreciation= [100,000 / 50,000]*7,000

Annual depreciation= $14,000

Year 2:

Annual depreciation= 2*9,000

Annual depreciation= $18,000


Related Questions

Proctor Inc. was incorporated in 2014 and adopted a calendar year. Here is a schedule of Proctor's net Section 1231 gains and (losses) reported on its tax returns through 2019. 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 $-0- $(3,800) $9,040 $(15,900) $-0- $-0- In 2020, Proctor recognized a $25,000 gain on the sale of business land. How is this gain characterized on Proctor's tax return

Answers

Answer:

This gain is characterized on Proctor's tax return as $15,900 ordinary gain and $9,100 Section 1231 gain.

Explanation:

The following sorted schedule of Proctor's net Section 1231 gains and (losses) reported on its tax returns through 2019 are given in the question.

2014           2015          2016           2017         2018        2019

$-0-        $(3,800)      $9,040      $(15,900)      $-0-         $-0-

The explanation of the answer is now given as follows:

The $9,040 Section 1231 profit in 2016 made the loss of $3,800 Section 1231 loss in 2015 to be recaptured in 2016.

Consequently, the only loss that must be recaptured in 2020 is the 2017 Section 1231 loss.

Therefore, we have:

Section 1231 gain = Gain on the sale of business land in 2020 - Section 1231 loss in 2017 = $25,000 - $15,900 = $9,100

Therefore, this gain is characterized on Proctor's tax return as $15,900 ordinary gain and $9,100 Section 1231 gain.

Flingers Inc. reveals the following information in their annual report for FY 2017. Earnings and Expenses Sales $10,000,000 Cost of goods sold $5,000,000 Pretax earnings $500,000 Selected Balance Sheet Items Merchandise inventory $80,000 Total assets $2,000,000 Upper management plans to cut cost of goods sold by 6% for the coming year but retain the same sales. What will Flingers' pretax earnings be for 2018

Answers

Answer:

$800,000

Explanation:

The computation of the pre tax earnings for the year 2018 is shown below:

As we know that

Pretax Earnings = Sales - Cost of Goods Sold - Operating Expenses

Now put the given values

$500,000  = $10,000,000 - $5,000,000 - Operating expenses

So, the operating expenses is

= $5,000,000 - $500,000

= $4,500,000

Now the cost of good sold would be cut by 6%

So, the pre tax earnings for the year 2018 is

= $10,000,000 - ($5,000,000 × 0.94) - $4,500,000

= $10,000,000 - $4,700,000 - $4,500,000

= $800,000

Identify which economic indicator should be used to track each of the following. a. The overall size of the economy the unemployment rate real GDP nominal GDP real GDP growth b. Labor market performance inflation business confidence the unemployment rate consumer confidence c. The future trajectory of economic activity the employment cost index real GDP inflation annual growth of the S&P 500 d. Wages and benefits business confidence real GDP the employment cost index consumer confidence

Answers

Answer:

a. The overall size of the economy ⇒ real GDP

The real GDP is adjusted for inflation and so would show the overall size of the economy in more accurate terms.

b. Labor market performance ⇒ the unemployment rate

The unemployment rate is best used to show how the labor market is performing because it shows the amount of people who are employed and those who are not in a given period.

c. The future trajectory of economic activity ⇒ annual growth of the S&P 500

The S&P 500 shows the performance of 500 large companies in the U.S. Their performance can be used to anticipate the trajectory of future economic activity because they influence the economy due to their large size.

d. Wages and benefits ⇒ the employment cost

The employment cost shows the wages and benefits that have to be paid to labor.

please help with accounting homework

Answers

Answer:

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Explanation:

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Zintendo, Inc., produces and sells a single product, the Zintendo Stitch gaming console, whose selling price is $400.00 per gaming console and whose variable costs are $224.00 per gaming console. The company's fixed costs are $5,935,750 per year. The current sales volume for the year ended 12/31/2020 is 36,300 gaming consoles.

Required:
a. Prepare a contribution margin income statement for the year ended 12/31/2020 at the current sales volume.
b. Determine the break-even point for the year.
c. What is the company's margin of safety for the year?

Answers

Answer and Explanation:

a. The preparation of the contribution margin income statement is presented below

Sales (36,300 × $400) $14,520,000

Less: variable cost (36,300 × $224) $8,131,200

Contribution margin $6,388,800

Less: fixed cost - $5,935,750

net income $453,050

b. The break even point is

In units

= Fixed cost ÷ contribution margin per unit

= $5,935,750 ÷ ($400 - $224)

= 33,726 units

In dollars

= Fixed cost ÷ contribution margin ratio

= $5,935,750 ÷ ($176 ÷ $400)

= $13,490,341

c. The margin of safety

In units

= Total sales units - break even units

= 36,300 - 33,726

= 2,574 units

In dollars

= Total sales - break even sales

= $14,520,000 - $13,490,341

= $1,029,659

Raphael lives in Detroit and runs a business that sells boats. In an average year, he receives $793,000 from selling boats. Of this sales revenue, he must pay the manufacturer a wholesale cost of $430,000; he also pays wages and utility bills totaling $301,000. He owns his showroom; if he chooses to rent it out, he will receive $15,000 in rent per year. Assume that the value of this showroom does not depreciate over the year. Also, if Raphael does not operate this boat business, he can work as a financial advisor, receive an annual salary of $50,000 with no additional monetary costs, and rent out his showroom at the $15,000 per year rate. No other costs are incurred in running this boat business.

Identify each of Manuel's costs in the following tab/e as either an implicit cost or an explicit cost of selling pianos.

a. The salary Manuel could earn if he worked as a financial advisor
b. The rental income Manuel could receive if he chose to rent out his showroom
c. The wholesale cost for the pianos that Manuel pays the manufacturer
d. The wages and utility bills that Manuel pays

Answers

Answer:

Implicit cost

The salary Manuel could earn if he worked as a financial advisor

b. The rental income Manuel could receive if he chose to rent out his showroom

explicit cost

c. The wholesale cost for the pianos that Manuel pays the manufacturer

d. The wages and utility bills that Manuel pays

Explanation:

Explicit cost includes the amount expended in running the business. They include rent , salary and cost of raw materials.  

Implicit cost is the cost of the next best option forgone when one alternative is chosen over other alternatives.

Only explicit cost is considered when calculating accounting profit while both explicit and implicit costs are considered in calculating economic profit.

Accounting profit= total revenue - explicit cost

Economic profit = accounting profit - implicit cost

If Manuel did not sell pianos, he would be working as a financial advisor, this is his next best option. Thus the salary he would have earned as a financial advisor is his explicit cost

If he did not use the showroom, he could have rented it out. Renting it out is his next best option. Thus the income from renting the showroom is his explicit cost

The wholesale cost of the pianos, wages and utility bills are monies actually expended in the course of running the business. Thus they are explicit costs

Explain three factors that had a negative impact on the financial performance of Unibic in its early years.

Answers

Hello. You forget to present the text to which this question refers. The text is:

In 2007, Lighthouse Funds acquired a 25% stake in Unibic from Unibic Australia for Rs. 200 million. In 2010, Unibic Australia started making losses and wanted to withdraw from the Indian market. At that time, Unibic operated solely in the premium, high-margin cookies segment in India, with a share of around 8%. It had a market presence primarily in south India and was exporting to the Middle East and Hong Kong. It had strategic alliances to make cookies for various private players. However, it was not yet making profits and was cashstrapped... Over the next few years, Unibic grew rapidly. Its growth was primarily fueled by the changes sweeping through the Indian biscuit industry, wherein glucose biscuits that had dominated the market, gradually lost out to cream biscuits and cookies. The reasons for the shift included rising disposable incomes leading to an increase in consumption of premium biscuits; a larger number of manufacturing facilities of premium biscuits; growing health awareness; innovation bringing in attractive new products; rising affordability of cookies; and increase in eye-catching packaging. Over the years, Unibic regularly introduced fresh and unique flavors, ultimately producing over 30 variants of cookies. Its products could be broadly categorized into chocolate, butter, milk, savory, and health. The company considered its target market to be between the ages of 14 and 40. It continued its efforts at innovation and produced new products which would appeal to its target market. In 2015, Unibic had used celebrity endorsement by signing on south Indian actor Shruti Hassan, for over a year.

It stated that it wanted someone who was relevant and would give the brand a boost to get to the numbers it wanted in the South...

Unibic didn’t advertise much in print media; TV remained the company’s core focus and got the largest chunk of its advertising spend, followed by digital and OOH. Instead of following the traditional strategy of having a similar marketing campaign across markets, Unibic employed a unique strategy in each market, thereby playing to its strengths in each market while keeping in mind the market conditions and consumption patterns...

From 2019 onward, Unibic started feeling the heat of the economic slowdown in India. The Indian economic slowdown of 2019 led to a serious and continuing decline in the country’s real estate, automobile and construction sectors and in overall consumption demand. The second quarter (July- September) of the financial year (April 2019-March 2020) witnessed a drastic fall in the gross domestic product (GDP) growth rate to 4.5%. The main reasons attributed to the fall in the GDP growth rate were – contraction in manufacturing activity, weakened investments, and lower consumption demand. As of 2020, Unibic had the largest wire cut cookie manufacturing plant in India. The plant had the capability to manufacture 100 tonnes of cookies each day, with five production lines. While it used 98% of its production capability to produce its own brand, the rest was used to manufacture for private label brands – six in India and 10 across the world. It had annual revenu7 es of Rs. 5 billion. It also exported its products to more than 21 countries including across Australia, North America, the UK, and Europe, Asia, the Middle East, and New Zealand. It derived 45% of its earnings from the south of India.

Answer and Explanation:

Unibic's main mistake was not to give importance to the fluctuation of demand for its products, in order to be able to adjust their prices to the demand rates that consumers presented. This is because as the demand for the product decreased, Unibic should decrease the price, allowing the product to remain attractive to consumers.

A second mistake was not following the standard of disclosure of other cookie makers. This is because if other companies that make cookies advertise their products in a specific place, it means that this place has a large number of cookie consumers, who will see the products and put them on their shopping lists.

A third mistake was the high expenditure on disclosure. Unibic decided to use the most expensive media vehicle to advertise a product, in addition to maintaining the contract with a celebrity, who should receive a high salary for his work. Unibic should have looked for cheaper vehicles, which would optimize its profit, but decrease spending.

Oriole Company developed the following information about its inventories in applying the lower-of-cost-or-net-realizable-value(LCNRV) basis in valuing inventories:
Product Cost Net realizable value
Market A $128000 $134000
B 90000 85000
C 179000 181000
After Oriole Company applies the LCNRV rule, the value of the inventory reported on the balance sheet would be:___.
a. $405000.
b. $392000.
c. $400000.
d. $397000.

Answers

Answer:

b. $392000.

Explanation:

The computation of the inventory balance reported on the balance sheet is shown below:

Product                   Cost                   Net realizable value    Lower value

A                            $128000                 $134000                     $128,000

B                             $90,000                 $85,000                    $85,000

C                             $179,000                $181,000                    $179,000

Total                                                                                          $392,000

A company's flexible budget for the range of 35,000 units to 45,000 units of production showed variable overhead costs of $3.80 per unit and fixed overhead costs of $74,000. The company incurred total overhead costs of $209,800 while operating at a volume of 40,000 units. The total controllable cost variance is:Multiple Choice$16,200 unfavorable.$10,000 favorable.$2,800 unfavorable.$2,800 favorable.$16,200 favorable.

Answers

Answer:

$16,200 favorable

Explanation:

The computation of the total controllable cost variance is shown below:

= Budgeted overhead - actual overhead

= (40,000 units × $3.80 + $74,000)  - $209,800

= ($152,000 + $74,000) - $209,800

= $226,000 - $209,800

= $16,200 favorable

Hence, the  total controllable cost variance is $16,200 favorable

when calculating the cash account, which of the following must be subtracted

Answers

Answer:

Profit (or Loss) =  Total Income - Total Expenses

Explanation:

Cash accounts deal with transactions that involves cash basis, not accrual basis. Thus there would majorly be cash inflows and cash outflows, which can be referred to as income and expenses respectively.

In calculating the cash account, subtract the sum of all cash outflow (expenses) from the sum of all cash inflow (income).

i.e   Profit (or Loss) =  Total Income - Total Expenses

Companies U and L are identical in every respect except that U is unlevered while L has $16 million of 7% bonds outstanding. Assume: (1) All of the MM assumptions are met. (2) Both firms are subject to a 25% federal-plus-state corporate tax rate. (3) EBIT is $2 million. (4) The unlevered cost of equity is 10%.

Required:
a. What value would MM now estimate for each firm?
b. What is rs for Firm U? For Firm L?
c. Find SL, and then show that SL + D= VL results in the same value as obtained in part a.
d. What is the WACC for Firm U? For Firm L?

Answers

Answer:

a. Firm U value = $15 million; and Firm L value = $19 million.

b. rs for Firm U = 10%; and rs for Firm L = 22%.

c. Value of levered firm = VL = SL + D => $19 million = $3 million + $16 million

d. WACC for Firm U = 10%; and WACC for Firm L = 7.89%

Explanation:

rd = cost of debt = 7%

r0 = Unlevered cost of equity = 10%

a. What value would MM now estimate for each firm?

Firm U value = Value of unlevered firm = EBIT(1 – Tax rate ) / Unlevered cost of equity = (2 * (1 – 0.25)) / 0.1 = $15 million

Firm L value = Value of levered firm = Value of unlevered firm + (Debt * Tax rate) = 15 + (16 * 25%) = $19 million

This implies that:

SL = Value of equity = Value of levered firm – Debt = $19 – 16 = $3 million

b. What is rs for Firm U? For Firm L?

rs for Firm U = r0 = Unlevered cost of equity = 10%

rs for Firm L = r0 + (r0 – rd)(D / S)(1 – Tax rate) = 10% + (10% - 7%)*(16 / 3)*(1 - 0.25) = 22%

c. Find SL, and then show that SL + D= VL results in the same value as obtained in part a.

Interest = ($16 * 7%) = $1.12 million

Earning before tax = EBIT – Interest = $2 – $1.12 = $0.88 million

Tax = 0.88 * 25% = $0.22 million

Net income = Earning before tax – Tax = $0.88 - $0.22 = $0.66 million

SL = Value of equity = Net income / rs for Firm L = 0.66 / 22% = $3 million

D = $16 million

Value of levered firm = VL = SL + D => $19 million = $3 million + $16 million

d. What is the WACC for Firm U? For Firm L?

WACC for Firm U = r0 = 10%

WACC for Firm L = rs * (SL / VL) + rd * (D / VL) * (1 – Tax rate) = (22% * (3 / 19)) + (7% * (16 / 19) * (1-0.25)) = 7.89%

Which of the following considerations might guide your decision regarding whether to copy Starbucks or sell coffee in a completely different way? Differentiation with respect to style and quality is impossible in a market this saturated—consumers will not be able to discern a significant difference between your coffee and your competitors' coffee. Regardless of whether you try to replicate Starbucks' style, it is necessary to differentiate with respect to quality and location. Differentiation with respect to quality is necessary to gain market power, but the additional cost of doing so in the premium coffee market will exceed

Answers

Answer:

Regardless of whether you try to replicate Starbucks' style, it is necessary to differentiate with respect to quality and location.

Explanation:

The quality and location of the product of a business are two important measures that can be used to differentiate the entity's product, especially in a saturated marketplace.  Quality is always unique to the individuals involved.  While some elements of quality can be duplicated, intrinsically, quality cannot be completely copied.   The location of a business ensures a successful differentiation strategy.

If wages are sticky, then a greater than expected increase in the price level Group of answer choices reduces the real costs of production, so the aggregate quantity of goods and services rises. raises the real costs of production, so the short-run aggregate supply curve shifts left. raises the real costs of production, so the aggregate quantity of goods and services declines. reduces the real costs of production, so the short-run aggregate supply curve shifts right.

Answers

Answer:

reduces the real costs of production, so the short-run aggregate supply curve shifts right.

Explanation:

The sticky-wage model or theory is an economical concept used to describe how in reality, wages may go up easily but slowly moves down and stays above the equilibrium because workers are resistant to nominal wage cut. This model was developed by John Maynard Keynes and he posited that, sticky-wage may lead to real-wage unemployment, as well as causing disequilibrium in the labor market.

In order to understand both short-run economic fluctuations and how the economy move from short to long run, we need the aggregate supply and aggregate demand model.

An aggregate supply curve gives the relationship between the aggregate price level for goods or services and the quantity of aggregate output supplied in an economy at a specific period of time.

If wages are sticky, then a greater than expected increase in the price level reduces the real costs of production, so the short-run aggregate supply curve shifts right.

In the short-run, a rightward shift in the aggregate supply (AS) curve causes output to increase and result in a price fall (lower price). The short-run nominal fluctuations basically cause a change in the level of production. In the short-run, as a result of a shift in the aggregate supply; an increase in money consequently to result in increase the level of production (output).

why do monopolistic firms exhibit excess capacity?

Answers

Answer:

Excess capacity under monopolistic competition is caused by product differentiation that leads to product variety and quality, which is beneficial to consumers. Consumers generally do not prefer homogenous products. Technically, excess capacity increases consumer satisfaction.

Explanation:

(hope this helps)

Grocery Corporation received $300,328 for 11 percent bonds issued on January 1, 2018, at a market interest rate of 8 percent. The bonds had a total face value of $250,000, stated that interest would be paid each December 31, and stated that they mature in 10 years. Assume Grocery Corporation uses the straight-line method to amortize the bond premium.
Prepare the required journal entries to record the bond issuance and the first interest payment on December 31.

Answers

Answer:

Dr Cash $300,328

Cr To Bonds Payable $250,000

Cr To Premium on Bonds payable $50,328

Dr Interest Expense $24,026

Dr Premium on bonds payable $3,474

Cr Cash $27,500

Explanation:

Preparation of the required journal entries to record the bond issuance and the first interest payment on December 31.

Dr Cash $300,328

Cr To Bonds Payable $250,000

Cr To Premium on Bonds payable $50,328

($300,328-$250,000)

(Being bond issued at a premium is recorded)

Dr Interest Expense $24,026

($300,328 × 8%)

Dr Premium on bonds payable $3,474

($27500-$24,026)

Cr Cash $27,500

($250,000 ×11%)

(Being interest expense recorded)

Tucker Company makes chairs. Tucker has the following production budget for January - March. January February March Units Produced 11,297 12,205 9,276 Each chair produced uses 4 board feet of wood. Management wants ending inventory levels of raw materials to equal 20% of the production needs (in wood) for the next month. How many board feet of wood does Tucker need to purchase in February? Round your answer to the nearest whole number. Don't round any intermediate calculations.

Answers

Answer:

Tucker Company

The number of board feet of wood that Tucker needs to purchase in February is:

=  46,297.

Explanation:

a) Data and Calculations:

Production Budget

                                               January   February      March      Total

Units Produced                         11,297       12,205      9,276   32,778

Board fee for each chair             4                4                4           4

Total board feet required       45,188       48,820     37,104    131,112

Board feet required               45,188       48,820     37,104    131,112

Ending Materials Inventory    9,764           7,421

Beginning Materials Inventory     (0)        (9,764)     (7,421)

Purchase of board feet        54,952      46,297

On January 1, 2020, Cullumber Company had the following stockholders' equity accounts.

Common Stock ($10 par value, 75,000 shares issued and outstanding) $750,000
Paid-in Capital in Excess of Par-Common Stock 180,000
Retained Earnings 500,000

During the year, the following transactions occurred.

Jan. 15 Declared a $1.00 cash dividend per share to stockholders of record on January 31, payable February 15.
Feb. 15 Paid the dividend declared in January.
Apr. 15 Declared a 5% stock dividend to stockholders of record on April 30, distributable
May 15. On April 15, the market price of the stock was $15 per share.
May 15 Issued the shares for the stock dividend.
July 1 Announced a 2-for-1 stock split. The market price per share prior to the announcement was $13. (The new par value is $5.)
Dec. 1 Declared a $0.40 per share cash dividend to stockholders of record on December 15, payable January 10, 2021.
Dec. 31 Determined that net income for the year was $200,000.

Required:
Journalize the transactions and the closing entries for net income and dividends.

Answers

Answer:

Cullumber Company

Journal Entries:

Jan. 15 Debit Cash Dividends $75,000

Credit Dividends payable $75,000

To record the declaration of $1.00 per 75,000 shares.

Feb. 15 Debit Dividends payable $75,000

Credit Cash $75,000

To record the payment of dividends.

Apr. 15 Debit Stock Dividends $37,500

Credit Stock Dividends payable $37,500

To record the declaration of 5% stock dividends on 75,000 shares.

May 15 Debit Stock Dividends payable $37,500

Credit Common stock $37,500

To record the issuance of stock for dividends.

July 1 Stock split (2-for-1) 75,000 shares No financial entry

Dec. 1 Debit Cash Dividends $60,000

Credit Dividends payable $60,000

To record the declaration of cash dividends of $0.40 on 150,000 shares.

Dec. 31 Debit Net income $200,000

Credit Retained earnings $200,000

To close net income to retained earnings.

Debit Retained Earnings $167,500

Credit Cash Dividends $130,000

Credit Stock Dividends $37,500

To close the dividends accounts to retained earnings.

Explanation:

a) Data and Analysis:

Common stock ($10 par value, 75,000 shares

 issued and outstanding)                                  $750,000

Paid-in Capital in Excess of Par-Common Stock 180,000

Retained Earnings                                               500,000

Jan. 15 Retained earnings (Cash Dividends) $75,000 Dividends payable $75,000 ($1.00 * 75,000)

Feb. 15 Dividends payable $75,000 Cash $75,000

Apr. 15 Retained earnings (Stock Dividends) $37,500 Stock Dividends payable $37,500 (75,000 * 5%)

May 15 Stock Dividends payable $37,500 Common stock $37,500

July 1 Stock split (2-for-1) 75,000 shares No financial entry

Dec. 1 Retained earnings (Cash Dividends) $60,000 Dividends payable $60,000 ($0.40 * 150,000)

Dec. 31 Net income $200,000 Retained earnings $200,000

Wildhorse Company produces golf discs which it normally sells to retailers for $7 each. The cost of manufacturing 24,200 golf discs is:
Materials $ 12,342
Labor 36,542
Variable overhead 25,894
Fixed overhead 47,916
Total $122,694
Wildhorse also incurs 5% sales commission ($0.35) on each disc sold.
McGee Corporation offers Wildhorse $4.80 per disc for 4,800 discs. McGee would sell the discs under its own brand name in foreign markets not yet served by Wildhorse. If Wildhorse accepts the offer, its fixed overhead will increase from $47,916 to $53,006 due to the purchase of a new imprinting machine. No sales commission will result from the special order.
(a) Prepare an incremental analysis for the special order. (Enter negative amounts using either a negative sign preceding the number e.g. -45 or parentheses e.g. (45).)
Reject
Order Accept
Order Net Income
Increase
(Decrease)
Revenues $ $ $
Materials
Labor
Variable overhead
Fixed overhead
Sales commissions
Net income $ $ $
(b) Should Wildhorse accept the special order?
Wildhorse should
reject/accept
the special order .

Answers

Answer:

Wildhorse Company

Incremental Analysis for the special order:

Sales Revenue (4,800 * $4.80)    $23,040

Variable cost (4,800 * $3.09)          14,832

Contribution margin                       $8,208

Fixed overhead increase                 5,090

Net Income                                       $3,118

b) Wildhorse should accept the special order.

Explanation:

a) Data and Calculations:

Materials                $ 12,342

Labor                        36,542

Variable overhead  25,894

Total variable cost $74,778

Unit variable cost $3.09 ($74,778/24,200)

Fixed overhead        47,916

Total                     $122,694

Units produced = 24,200

Selling price per unit = $7

Additional cost:

Sales commission = $0.35 per disc

Special order for 4,800 discs at $4.80

Increase in fixed overhead $5,090 ($53,006 - $47,916)

Explain the role of secondary data in gaining customer insights

Answers

Secondary data is information that already exists for another purpose. Researchers get the data by the company's internal database. They are also able to get the information by other resources. One potential problem that may occur is not all information they need are easily obtainable.

In wintry conditions, highway safety is improved by treating road services with substances that will provide traction and/or melt snow and ice. Sand and rock salt are two widely used substances. Recently, a combination of beet juice and rocksalt is being used in some parts of the country to treat road surfaces. Suppose you have been asked to provide a list of factors to consider for a switch from rocksalt alone to using a combination of beet juice and rocksalt. Name the major considerations you would take into account in making a decision in the following categories: cost considerations, environmental considerations, both positive and negative, and other considerations.

Answers

Answer:

There will be cost consideration, economic consideration, environmental consideration, human factors and social factors.

Explanation:

There should be most important consideration which the highway authorities should analyze is cost. The authorities should identify the additional cost which will need to be incurred in order to use the combination of beet juice and rock salt. There should be reliability considered that the road are not affected with the use of beet juice and there is no breakage on the roads. The environment is not affected with the use of these material.

I'm dealing with "internal economies of scale". We are considering monopolistic competition as an example. We assumed that firms are symmetric: they face the same demand function and have the same cost function.
Why do firms falling in this situation, have different marginal cost functions? Why is it true that some are well performing and some are not?

Answers

Answer:

The concept of Micro-Economics are the elasticity of demand, marginal costs, the ... firm. ME deals with Demand analysis, Forecasting, Production function, Cost ... same. Because this is the world of competition and it has to be faced with all the possible options. 5. ... When we consider the demand for a commodity by all the.

state 2uses of sulphuric iv acid​

Answers

Color dyes and explosions will be your answer!
Other things sulphuric acid can create would be drugs, nitric acid, and hydrochloride acid.

Bluestone Company had three intangible assets at the end of the current year:
a. A patent purchased this year from Miller Co. on January 1 for a cash cost of $4,000. When purchased, the patent had an estimated life of 10 years.
b. A trademark was registered with the federal government for $8,500. Management estimated that the trademark could be worth as much as $210,000 because it has an indefinite life.
c. Computer licensing rights were purchased this year on January 1 for $80,000. The rights are expected to have a five-year useful life to the company.
Required:
1. Compute the acquisition cost of each intangible asset.
2. Compute the amortization of each intangible for the current year ended December 31. (Do not round intermediate calculations.)
3. Show how these assets and any related expenses should be reported on the balance sheet and income statement for the current year.

Answers

Answer and Explanation:

The computation is shown below:

1) Calculation of the acquisition cost is

Patent = $4,000

Trademark = $210,000 + $8,500 = $218,500

Licensing Rights = $80,000

2) Computation the amortization expense is  

Patent = $4,000 ÷ 10 = $400

Trademark = $218,500 ÷ 10 = $21,850

Here we assume the indefinite life of 10 years  

Licensing Rights = $80,000 ÷ 5 = $16,000

3)

Income statement:

Amortization expense  $38,250 ($400 + $21,850 + $16,000)

Balance sheet at year end december:

Fixed assets

Intangibles

Patent         $3600 ($4,000 - $400)

Trademark  $196,650 ($218,500 - $21,850)

Licensing Rights  $64,000 ($80,000 - $64,000)

Which descriptions are examples of Logistics Planning and Management Services workers? Check all that apply.

Lucretia supervises workers who organize the products in a warehouse.
Jeff organizes the redevelopment of areas contaminated by pollution.
Beatrice sells tickets to passengers for trips, and advises them about travel routes.
Stephanie inspects vehicles and equipment to make sure they meet safety standards.
Marcel oversees the transportation activities of an organization.
Armand analyzes procedures for shipping and storage to identify ways to make them more efficient.

Answers

Answer:

A,E,F

Explanation:

Brainliest Please

Answer:

A, E, F

Explanation:

Hope this helps, have a great day (;

The income statement of Whitlock Company is presented here.

WHITLOCK COMPANY Income Statement For the Year Ended November 30, 2020

Sales revenue $7,407,400
Cost of goods sold Beginning inventory $1,920,000
Purchases 4,485,300
Goods available for sale 6,405,300
Ending inventory 1,445,800
Total cost of goods sold 4,959,500
Gross profit 2,447,900
Operating expenses 1,081,100
Net income $1,366,800

Additional information:

1. Accounts receivable increased $200,000 during the year, and inventory decreased $500,000.
2. Prepaid expenses increased $150,000 during the year.
3. Accounts payable to suppliers of merchandise decreased $340,000 during the year.
4. Accrued expenses payable decreased $100,000 during the year.
5. Operating expenses include depreciation expense of $70,000.

Required:
Prepare the operating activities section of the statement of cash flows for the year ended November 30, 2020, for Whitlock Company, using the indirect method.

Answers

Answer:

$1,146,800

Explanation:

Preparation for the operating activities section of the statement of cash flows for the year ended November 30, 2020

WHITLOCK COMPANY

Partial Statement of Cash FlowsFor the Year Ended November 30, 2020

Cash flows from operating activities

Net income $1,366,800

Adjustments to reconcile net income to net cash provided by operating activities..

Activities

Depreciation expense $70,000

Decrease in inventory $500,000

Decrease in accrued expenses payable ($100,000)

Increase in prepaid expenses ($150,000)

Increase in accounts receivable ($200,000)

Decrease in accounts payable($340,000)($220,000)

Net cash provided by operatingActivities $1,146,800

($1,366,800-$220,000)

Therefore the operating activities section of the statement of cash flows for the year ended November 30, 2020 is $1,146,800

Pincus Associates uses the allowance method to account for bad debts. During 2021, its first year of operations, Pincus provided a total of $119,000 of services on account. In 2021, the company wrote off uncollectible accounts of $4,800. By the end of 2021, cash collections on accounts receivable totaled $100,800. Pincus estimates that 5% of the accounts receivable balance at 12/31/2021 will prove uncollectible.

Required:
a. What journal entry did Pincus record to write off uncollectible accounts during 2021?
b. What journal entry should Pincus record to recognize bad debt expense for 2021?

Answers

Answer:

Pincus Associates

Journal Entries:

a. Debit Allowance for Uncollectibles $4,800

Credit Accounts Receivable $4,800

To write off uncollectible accounts.

b. Debit Bad Debts Expense $5,470

Credit Allowance for Uncollectibles $5,470

To record bad debts expense for the period.

Explanation:

a) Data and Calculations:

Services on account = $119,000

Uncollectibles written off = $4,800

Cash collections on accounts = $100,800

Accounts receivable balance = $13,400 ($119,000 - 4,800 - 100,800)

Estimated uncollectible allowance = 5% of accounts receivable balance

= $670 ($13,400 * 5%)

Analysis:

a. Allowance for Uncollectibles $4,800 Accounts Receivable $4,800

b. Bad Debts Expense $5,470 Allowance for Uncollectibles $5,470 ($4,800 + $670)

Butte Truck Company specializes in selling used trucks. During the first six months of 2015, the dealership sold 50 trucks at an average price of $18,000 each. The budget for the first six months of 2015 was to sell 45 trucks at an average price of $19,000 each. Compute the dealership's sales price variance and sales volume variance for the first six months of 2009.

Answers

Answer:

$50,000 U

Explanation:

Computation of the dealership's sales price variance and sales volume variance for the first six months of 2009.

Using this formula

Sales Price Variance = (Difference between budget price and actual price) x Actual qty sold.

Sales Price Variance= ($19,000 - $18,000) x 50 cars

Sales Price Variance= 1000*50

Sales Price Variance= $ 50,000 U

Therefore the dealership's sales price variance and sales volume variance for the first six months of 2009 is $ 50,000 U

The Magnetron Company manufactures and markets microwave ovens. Currently, the company produces two models: full-size and compact. Production is limited by the amount of labor available in the general assembly and electronic assembly departments, as well as by the demand for each model. Each full-size oven requires 2 hours of general assembly and 2 hours of electronic assembly, whereas each compact oven requires 1 hour of general assembly and 3 hours of electronic assembly. In the current production period, there are 500 hours of general assembly labor available and 800 hours of electronic assembly labor available.

In addition, the company estimates that it can sell at most 220 full-size ovens and 180 compact ovens in the current production period. The earnings contribution per oven is $120 for a full-size oven and $130 for a compact oven. The company would like to find an earnings-maximizing production plan for the current production period.

Required:
Formulate the above problem as a linear optimization model

Answers

Answer:

Max: [tex]Z = 120x + 130y[/tex]

Subject to:

[tex]2x + y \le 500[/tex]

[tex]2x + 3y \le 800[/tex]

[tex]x \le 220[/tex]

[tex]y \le 180[/tex]

[tex]x,y \ge 0[/tex]

Explanation:

Given

Let:

[tex]x \to Units\ of\ full\ size[/tex]

[tex]y \to Units\ of\ compact\ size[/tex]

Required

Formulate a linear optimization model

Constraints for time:

For the general assembly (hours), we have the following parameters:

[tex]x \to 2[/tex]

[tex]y \to 1[/tex]

So, the expression is:

[tex]2x + y[/tex] --- (1)

For the electronic assembly (hours), we have the following parameters:

[tex]x\to 2[/tex]

[tex]y \to 3[/tex]

So, the expression is:

[tex]2x + 3y[/tex] --- (2)

Solving further [Time available]:

[tex]General\ Assembly \to 500[/tex]

[tex]Electronic\ Assembly \to 800[/tex]

So, (1) and (2) becomes:

[tex]2x + y \le 500[/tex]

[tex]2x + 3y \le 800[/tex]

Constraints for selling:

[tex]Full\ Size \to 220[/tex] --- at most

[tex]Compact \to 180[/tex] -- at most

The above can be represented as:

[tex]x \le 220[/tex]

[tex]y \le 180[/tex]

Earnings contribution:

[tex]Total\ Full\ Size \to 120[/tex]

[tex]Total\ Compact \to 130[/tex]

The objective function to be maximized can then be modelled as:

[tex]Z = 120x + 130y[/tex]

Sole Mates Inc. is planning a one-month campaign for July to promote sales of one of its two shoe products. A total of $100,000 has been budgeted for advertising, contests, redeemable coupons, and other promotional activities. The following data have been assembled for their possible usefulness in deciding which of the products to select for the campaign:

Tennis Shoe Walking Shoe
Unit selling price $85 $100
Unit production costs:
Direct materials $19 $32
Direct labor 8 12
Variable factory overhead 7 5
Fixed factory overhead 16 11
Total unit production costs $50 $60
Unit variable selling expenses 6 10
Unit fixed selling expenses 20 15
Total unit costs $76 $85
Operating income per unit $9 $15

No increase in facilities would be necessary to produce and sell the increased output. It is anticipated that 7,000 additional units of tennis shoes or 7,000 additional units of walking shoes could be sold without changing the unit selling price of either product.

Required:
Prepare a differential analysis as of June 19, 2014, to determine whether to promote tennis shoes (Alternative 1) or walking shoes (Alternative 2).

Answers

Answer:

Sole Mates Inc.

Differential analysis:

                                        Tennis Shoe      Walking Shoe

Unit selling price                      $85                  $100

Unit production costs:

Direct materials                        $19                   $32

Direct labor                                  8                      12

Variable factory overhead          7                       5

Unit variable selling expenses   6                     10

Total variable costs                $40                   $59

Contribution margin per unit $45                   $41            

                                        Tennis Shoe      Walking Shoe   Difference

                                        Alternative 1       Alternative 2

Total contribution margin    $315,000         $287,000       $28,000

Advertising costs                  (100,000)          (100,000)                  0

Total income (loss)             ($215,000)          $187,000      $28,000

Promote the Tennis Shoes (Alternative 1) because it will bring in more contribution margin than Alternative 2.

Explanation:

a) Data and Calculations:

Budgeted advertising costs = $100,000

                                        Tennis Shoe      Walking Shoe

Unit selling price                      $85                  $100

Unit production costs:

Direct materials                        $19                   $32

Direct labor                                  8                       12

Variable factory overhead          7                        5

Fixed factory overhead             16                       11

Total unit production costs    $50                  $60

Unit variable selling expenses   6                     10

Unit fixed selling expenses     20                     15

Total unit costs                       $76                 $85

Operating income per unit      $9                   $15

Presented below is information for Marin Company.

1. Beginning-of-the-year Accounts Receivable balance was $23,100.
2. Net sales (all on account) for the year were $104,700. Marin does not offer cash discounts.
3. Collections on accounts receivable during the year were $85,400.

Marin is planning to factor some accounts receivable at the end of the year. Accounts totaling $13,900 will be transferred to Credit Factors, Inc. with recourse. Credit Factors will retain 6% of the balances for probable adjustments and assesses a finance charge of 5%. The fair value of the recourse obligation is $1,075.

Required:
Prepare (summary) journal entries to record the items noted above.

Answers

Answer:

Debit Accounts Receivable for $104,700; and Credit Sales Revenue for $104,700.

Debit Cash for $85,400; and Credit Accounts Receivable for $85,400.

Explanation:

The (summary) journal entries to record the items noted will look as follows:

Particulars                                   Debit ($)             Credit ($)        

Accounts Receivable                  104,700

Sales Revenue                                                         104,700

(To record net sales (all on account) for the year.)                        

Cash                                             85,400

Accounts Receivable                                               85,400

(Collections on accounts receivable during the year.)                

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